Traceability through serialization

Reduce counterfeiting - increase consumer information

The ability to trace individual products through the supply chain is becoming increasingly important to fight counterfeiting and increase consumer safety. This applies to the pharmaceutical, cosmetic, tobacco as well as to the food & beverage industries.

While traditional lot and batch level traceability provides a level of supply chain risk management, serialization provides item-level traceability. This means individual items can be traced from manufacture, right through distribution and retail to end consumer use.  Among the many benefits this includes ensuring individual items are authentic and whether they have been distributed via legitimate channels.
There are two main challenges to achieve a comprehensive traceability through serialization solution:
  1. Managing the data internally, with supply chain partners, and with the consumer oriented servers
  2. Changing the production hardware and processes.
Various 2D barcodes enabling pharmaceutical serialization
To meet these challenges two main ‘philosophies’ have arisen to deal with the new data management and production process demands -  the single-system point-to-point (closed single supplier) solution or the flexible ‘layer’ solution. By separating data handling from the production line, the flexible layer solution brings numerous systems benefits.

The basics: what you need to know about traceability

Flexible layer separates data handling from the production line

Why is flexible layer solution a better option?

The flexible layer solution in serialization delivers several advantages over single system point-to-point (closed single supplier) solutions, such as easy tailoring, high flexibility, ease-of-use and fast integration.

Learn more
EU_KeyVisual_Packaging_420x240.jpg

The current situation in the pharmaceutical industry

The ability to trace individual products through the supply chain to the consumer has been a crucial development within the pharmaceutical industry. This has resulted in various legislation being enacted around the world including the Falsified Medicine Directive (FMD) and the Drug Quality and Security Act (DQSA).

Learn more

White papers

  • Inspection systems for product traceability

    Discover how inspection systems with pharmaceutical application packages can integrate serialized codes into ERP systems. And, how all other inspection tasks can be set up in one system accessible via one interface. Learn more

    How vision inspection protects brand reputation

    Product recalls caused by food safety concerns damage a brand's reputation and causes long term consumer dissatisfaction. Read how traceability via vision inspection is increasingly being seen as the best strategy to minimize such product liability, and therefore helps protect valuable brand equity. Learn more
  • Vision Inspection is Vital for Brand Protection

    High consumer expectations regarding food safety as well as new legal requirements mean that food and beverage processing and packaging companies have a growing need for vision systems that check whether information on a package or label has been applied correctly. Learn more

Customer references

  • Pharmaceutical contract manufacturer

    How did a contract manufacturer supply 1,000,000 serialized packages for multiple pharmaceutical customers with varying standards and procedures… and within a network of multiple production sites, contract manufacturers, re-packers and other service providers – and all according to the expected EU regulations to centrally register all the unique codes? Learn more

    Printed packaging info verified using touch-screen operator interface

    Read how an Omron large-sized touch-screen monitor provide an operator interface through which the entire highly technical process of 2D code printing was controlled and checked as part of the pharmaceutical packaging process. Learn more

Need support?

EU_AutomationLayer_Serialisation_420x420.jpg

Implementing serialization in your production line?

Take the next step in your serialization solution layout, implementation or upgrade. Contact us at any stage of your serialization implementation process - from concept studies and first pilots to complete stations in your lines. You can also benefit from our experiences with integration in new machines and upgrade cycles. Contact us today.

Learn more

Serialization and traceability products

  • Xpectia FH.jpg

    FH

    Faster machine speed and high-precision operation

  • FH-L_Product_Image.jpg

    FH-L

    The Perfect Solution for Medium Speed Vision Applications

  • NA.jpg

    NA series

    The next generation of Machine Interface

  • Sysmac_press_image_04.jpg

    NJ5

    Machine Automation Controller - NJ5 Series

La traçabilité grâce à la sérialisation

Réduire les contrefaçons et améliorer les informations au consommateur

L'aptitude à tracer l'origine de produits unitairement tout au long de la chaîne d'approvisionnement devient de plus en plus importante pour lutter contre la contrefaçon et améliorer la sécurité des consommateurs. Cela s'applique aux secteurs des produits pharmaceutiques et cosmétiques, aux produits du tabac, ainsi qu'aux secteurs de l'alimentation et des boissons.

La réalisation d'une traçabilité complète via une solution de sérialisation présente deux défis majeurs :
  1. Gestion des données en interne , avec les partenaires de la chaîne d'approvisionnement et avec des serveurs orientés consommateur
  2. Modification du matériel et des processus de production. .
EU_KeyVissual_Serialisation_420x240.jpg
Si la traçabilité classique au niveau des lots permet dans une certaine mesure de gérer les risques tout au long de la chaîne d'approvisionnement, la sérialisation rend possible la traçabilité au niveau des articles. Cela signifie que les articles individuels peuvent être tracés de la fabrication à l'utilisation par le consommateur final, en passant par la distribution et la vente au détail. Entre autres avantages, il est ainsi possible de s'assurer que les produits individuels sont authentiques et ont été distribués par des canaux légitimes.
Pour relever ces défis, deux « philosophies » sont apparues pour traiter la nouvelle gestion des données et les exigences des processus de production : la solution système unique tout intégré (fournisseur unique et fermé) ou la solution flexible et ouverte. En séparant la gestion des données de la ligne de production, la solution flexible et ouverte procure de nombreux avantages pour le système.

Les principes de base : ce que vous devez savoir à propos de la traçabilité

Codes 1D et 2D lisibles par l'homme ou la machine

et leur utilisation dans les applications de conditionnement et de traçabilité.

En savoir plus
EU_Image5_ProductTraceability_420x420.jpg

Pourquoi la solution flexible et ouverte est-elle une meilleure option ?

La solution de sérialisation flexible et ouverte apporte différents avantages par rapport aux solutions à base de système unique tout intégré (fournisseur unique et fermé) : facilité d'adaptation, grande flexibilité, simplicité d'utilisation et intégration rapide.

La situation actuelle de l'industrie pharmaceutique

La possibilité de tracer les produits unitairement tout au long de la chaîne d'approvisionnement jusqu'au consommateur a constitué une évolution considérable pour l'industrie pharmaceutique, aboutissant à l'adoption de différentes lois à travers le monde, parmi lesquelles la Directive relative aux médicaments falsifiés (FMD) et la Drug Quality and Security Act (DQSA, Loi relative à la qualité et à l'innocuité des médicaments).

En savoir plus

The current situation in food safety applications

Product recalls caused by food safety concerns damage a brand's reputation and causes long term consumer dissatisfaction.

  • l’inspection avec un système de vision est essentielle à la protection de la marque

    Les attentes élevées des consommateurs en matière de salubrité des aliments ainsi que les nouvelles exigences de la loi font que les entreprises de traitement et d’emballage des aliments et des boissons ont de plus en plus besoin de systèmes de vision qui vérifient si l’information sur l’emballage ou une étiquette a été appliquée correctement.
    En savoir plus

    Systèmes d'inspection pour la traçabilité des produits

    Découvrez comment les systèmes d'inspection avec des ensembles d'applications pharmaceutiques peuvent intégrer des codes sérialisés au sein de systèmes d'ERP. Et voyez la manière dont toutes les autres tâches d'inspection peuvent être configurées dans un seul et même système accessible via une interface unique.
    En savoir plus
  • Comment l’inspection par vision protège la réputation de la marque

    Les rappels de produits liés à la sécurité alimentaire nuisent à la réputation d'une marque et provoquent un mécontentement à long terme des consommateurs. Découvrez comment la traçabilité par contrôle vision est de plus en plus largement considérée comme la meilleure stratégie pour minimiser ce genre de préjudices et par conséquent, contribuer à protéger la valeur précieuse de la marque.
    En savoir plus

Besoin d'assistance ?

Obtenez des conseils en matière de sérialisation

Avez-vous des doutes quant à l'étape suivante de votre mise en œuvre de la sérialisation ? Contactez-nous à n'importe quel stade de votre processus de mise en œuvre de la sérialisation, des études de conception et des premiers projets pilotes à la mise en place de postes complets dans vos lignes et sur vos sites et à l'intégration à de nouvelles machines, jusqu'aux cycles d'amélioration et de mise à niveau.

En savoir plus

Produits de sérialisation et de traçabilité